Day

In the next twenty-six hours, I will (in addition to writing this post):

  1. Figure out, with Stubb, how to get the Snork Maiden a ride to her back-to-school picnic (Miz P. will pick her up, as Stubb has a performance and I have a class)
  2. Finish an application for a summer 2012 residency
  3. Sleep (a full eight hours, I hope)
  4. Read a reaccreditation document
  5. Drive to SA
  6. Meet at Starfleet Academy with the head of the committee I’m on for our reaccreditation process
  7. Drive to NLNRU
  8. Comment on student work
  9. Attend a faculty meeting (and eat the provided lunch)
  10. Attend a department function
  11. Slip off for a very quiet dinner hour
  12. Teach a class (first half conducted by colleague #3, second half in workshops)
  13. Drive home

See that residency application item (#2)?  That almost didn’t make it to the list because I lost track of the due date and this week has been busy.  Fortunately, I’d mentioned it in an email to my friend L., and she happened to email me today and mention it, and I was frankly too embarrassed to email her back and say “Oh, I spaced on that and now I don’t have time,” because L. would say some version of “You don’t have time not to do it,” which is true.   Time is what I need!  I worked on it Wednesday morning, and I’ll finish it on Thursday, and it might not be perfect, but it will definitely be good enough to send in.

And I’m marking my calendar for the next deadline, too.  But isn’t that interesting, that the thing that’s in some ways the most important, the farthest-reaching, the most related to helping me get my writing done, is the one that almost got knocked off the list altogether?

Even looking at the list now, I realize that my completion of every other item on it, except for sleep and dinner, is enforced by the involvement of other people.  The Snork Maiden and Stubb need me to do my part in organizing her schedule (I actually just got a call back from her friend K’s dad, who will give her the ride, and Stubb will be with her all day tomorrow until then, so that’s #1 done).  The reaccreditation committee head has our meeting in her calendar.  The students expect their work back.  I’m expected at the faculty meeting, reception, and class.  If I drop the ball on any of these things, I let other people down.  If I drop the ball on #2 (or #3 or #11), whom do I let down?  Just me.

Just me.

Thanks, L., for making me say to myself what you would have said to me.  Can I hire you to make sure I do more of the things that are important to me and unenforced by anyone else?

2 responses to this post.

  1. Yes, hire me! (But I don’t work cheap!)

    Reply

  2. Such a good insight — it’s easy to feel more accountable to others than we do to ourselves. Glad you got nudged to do something that is important for yourself (although it sounds like an exhausting week!).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

