Summer and smoke

My school year begins its ramp-up today.  NLNRU begins classes (my first one is Thursday evening), and I’m going in first to write, and then to attack a long, loosely organized list of things to do, including set up meetings with my semester advisees, tweak the syllabus, etc.  Then I’m going to do some miscellaneous professional tasks, mostly having to do with conference planning, but also scheduling a short trip, and looking at the current state of my submissions.

Then, tomorrow, I start going to SA for a couple of hours to conduct college-essay-writing workshops for a group of seniors.  I think I mentioned that I haven’t done this for a couple of years because I found I wanted the extra time more than I wanted the extra money, but this year, my interest in working with the seniors one more time, combined with the fact that our SA summer break is a little longer than usual, compelled me to sign on.  This senior group was the first freshman class I taught for a whole school year, and I’m feeling kind of wistful about them!

And I’m thinking about buying a laptop with the extra money, rather than just dumping it into the bank and losing track of it while paying bills, so that I can really see and enjoy the fruits of this extra piece of work.

Then, next week, my AP class starts meeting, and the SA beginning-of-year meetings and trainings begin, including those lunches where we all catch up on the summer doings.  Somewhere in there, I will be able to get into my new classroom with Romola and start unpacking.

By the second week in September, everything should be up and running, and the new normal will be under way.  Which reminds me, I have discovered one really unfortunate SA/NLNRU double-booking, in which SA parents’ night conflicts directly with my NLNRU class.  This has actually never happened before, and I’m trying not to freak out.  I need to rearrange the NLNRU syllabus and talk to my co-instructors about it–because this is one case where SA definitely trumps NLNRU.

2 responses to this post.

  1. I was thinking of you the other day; I had a dream I was visiting, and you were there, and I was happy to see you. 🙂 Have a good school year! And I wish SnorkMaiden a great year, too!

    Reply

  2. Posted by meansomething on August 23, 2011 at 12:53 am

    I wish you were visiting! Well, not right now, because I want you to be where you are, but sometime!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

