The book of questions

I only know the answer to the last one (No).
  • If you read the last couple months’ worth of posts, I sound like a person who reacts poorly to displacement and disruption.  So why am I currently consumed with a longing to apply for all kinds of fellowships and opportunities that would take me out of the area, and in some cases, out of the country?
  • Is there any way to do something like this that would not completely screw everything up at SA and NLNRU?
  • I am thinking of making parts of my second book manuscript available in a Web-based form.  Is this a brilliant idea that will allow me to build a broad readership for this work (and eventually to publish the whole thing in a more conventional book form), or just another way for people to ignore my work?
  • Was it really okay to allow the Snork Maiden to get four vaccinations/booster shots today?
  • Am I allowing NLNRU to take up too much of my time this summer, or am I doing too little to justify what I’m paid?
  • When will the inconveniences of being involved with the annual conference in my field outweigh the pleasures to me and benefits to my professional life?
  • How long will it take me to recognize when this has happened?
  • Will any of the work I currently have out at magazines get taken?
  • Is there any excuse for not writing every day this week?
3 responses to this post.

  1. Sounds like a bit of a rough week.

    Re vaccinations: They’re not fun (I once got a bit of a fever in reaction to one), but they’re WAY more fun than polio, diptheria, HPV, hepatitis, measles, meningitis, etc.

    Reply

  2. In response to your second bullet point: Does either SA or NLNRU have a sabbatical program? That could be a way to head out for awhile while staying in favor with the schools.

    Reply

  3. Posted by meansomething on July 16, 2011 at 4:13 am

    @Bardiac: Yes, I’m happy with the tradeoff (four jabs, a few tears, two sore arms in exchange for no (or greatly reduced chance of) meningitis and other awful things. The week wasn’t really that bad–just a bit intense!

    @WN?: Not exactly, but there are…let’s say possibilities. I am mulling. Does FGS have sabbaticals?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

