The interpretation of dreams

Funky dream last night, in which I moved into my new SA classroom.  Except it wasn’t at all what it was supposed to be.  Instead of a new, albeit somewhat smaller space with a long whiteboard at the front and about twenty desks facing it, I’d been moved, with Romola, into a series of three very small rooms.

The first was a kind of anteroom, with a small whiteboard but no seats.

The middle had a large black chalkboard, rather like those in most of the classrooms in my own high school.  Facing it, instead of desks or tables with chairs, were two double beds, like you’d see in a hotel room.

The third was more like an alcove, not really a room at all.

No place for books.  No desks for Romola and me.

And I was torn between two urgencies: finding someone who could at least replace the beds with desks, or, better, who would understand that this space was totally unsuited to our needs; and leaving SA in time to get to an urgent class at NLNRU.

I guess I am feeling a little unsettled by the move.  I’ve been at SA a few times in the past week, doing some bits of work related to school, but also some writing-related tasks of my own.  I’m sort of squatting in a teacher workroom there, amid boxes that will be moved to the new building in August.  I also just received, in Saturday’s mail, my NLNRU contract for next year.  My days have been lively–there’s plenty to do: of my own work, on projects at both institutions, around the house, and for the Snork Maiden.  But they’ve been lighter and freer, even so.  And I find I’m more likely to remember my dreams.

2 responses to this post.

  1. I had a similar anxiety dream last night. There was no furniture in my room, and my new students and I went searching for desks but found only lawn chairs, which the students then set up chaotically in the room, and somehow there were vines or something wrapped around the lawn chairs, and I just knew it was going to be impossible to teach in that room.

    Why these teaching anxiety dreams in early July, for heaven’s sake?!

    Reply

  2. Posted by meansomething on July 12, 2011 at 7:13 am

    Maybe our brains are recognizing that they have not been bathed in teaching anxiety for a few weeks, and are trying to compensate? Funny! Or not.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

