Something new

I really want to blog more for the journaling aspect of it.  It’s been three years since I started at SA, and when I read my old posts, I remember parts of the journey I would otherwise have forgotten. 

And I’d like to remember days like today, when I got up to make an announcement at assembly, and there were some whoops and cheers, almost as though the kids were happy I was getting up there.  We were stalling for a few minutes while the wind ensemble got offstage and the orchestra got set up, and a chemistry teacher had just gone up and told a joke, so I think there was an expectation that I was going to tell one, too.  But it was a warm reception any way you look at it–and I realized that my own prediction had come true: I’ve now taught kids in all four grades, and I could have named about 75% of the kids in the auditorium.  I’ve mentioned before that time does a certain amount of the work for you in high school teaching; you become a known quantity, and in many ways that’s a very, very good thing.

Anyway, about blogging.  Short posts are one key, I think, since I don’t have a lot of time for blogging.  And I just noticed that I have 50 categories (many of which I’ve probably only used once), so I think I’ll challenge myself to write a short post on each of those categories.  A very short post in some cases, I’m sure.  And I think I’ll go in alphabetical order.

But right now the Snork Maiden needs me to quiz her for her social studies test tomorrow, and then she needs to go to bed, and shortly thereafter, so do I, so this project will commence–later?  tomorrow?  Well, no later than Wednesday.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Pym Fan on March 8, 2011 at 3:48 pm

    Congrats on those whoops and cheers. And I’m looking forward to the short category posts in alphabetical order!

    Reply

  2. Yes, and yes, and yes — I could have written this same blog post myself! (well, except for the part about quizzing the Snork Maiden in social studies.) I’ll look forward to your coming posts, and I’m delighted to hear about the warm reception from the students.

    Reply

  3. […] this post I described how, last spring, I got up to make an announcement at SA assembly, to a warm greeting […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

