An object of beauty

I’m sitting here looking at a binder-clipped printout of my book manuscript. 

It’s finished.

(I just had to say those two words.   Of course there will be changes.  I’m not sending it out tomorrow.  But I have a complete draft.  It’s there.)

The first week back at SA was pretty intense.  It doesn’t help that we have exams after break and that they’re coming up shortly.  NLNRU revs up this week (I went once last week) and then bam! visiting writer.

So I checked with Stubb (about to enter a busy period himself) and took myself to a hotel Saturday 5 pm to Sunday noon.  That was what I had and that, it turns out, is what it took.  I went to SA on the way back and made some more changes and printed it out–double-sided, so it looks quite slim, actually.  I might need to print it out again one-sided, so that I can experience the heft.  I mean, I have spent a lot of time on this thing. 

How long?  Well, I think I wrote the first words of it at the end of 2000.  I was still working on book #1, too, though.  That was accepted in 2004 and published in 2005.  I’d say that this has been The Project for six and a half years.

I’m still pretty stunned.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Pym Fan on January 10, 2011 at 2:53 pm

    Woo-hoo!! That’s fabulous! (I can’t believe you resisted the urge to print it out single-sided: I would *definitely* want to feel the heft.) If you don’t already have a bottle of champagne on hand, send Stubb out to get one. Congrats, dearie!

    Reply

  2. Wow — big moment! Congratulations on this accomplishment, and do enjoy the heft.

    Reply

  3. Hurray! I hope it’s as good as the first 🙂

    Reply

  4. Wow! Congratulations! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

