Dinner with friends

In Social Life News: The Snork Maiden has a class trip today and won’t be back to school until 6:30, so Natasha proposed that we get together with the other faculty/staff mothers of kids in her grade.  There will be five of us at a burgers-and-drinks-type joint near SA.  I think we were all assuming we would work through (the first quarter is ending soon), but this is a much better idea.

In Other Social Life News: The volleyball team is having a Dig Pink event this weekend and I thought it would be nice to go and cheer the girls on.  I thought it would be even nicer if I could sit with some colleagues and maybe go to dinner afterwards.  So I emailed the English department, with very little response, and then I put up a sign in the faculty workroom which I’m afraid sounds  a little pathetic: “Is anyone going?  Want to have dinner?”  I wish either that the Social Committee thing were up and running (because then I could suggest it to them), or that we had a faculty-staff listserv for stuff like this (maybe I should suggest one).  We do have the ability to email all faculty and staff, but faculty use it very rarely; it’s mostly used by administrators to send messages to us.   Anyway, I’m regretting my pathetic little sign, but wouldn’t it be worse to go and take it down?  The very worst that can happen is that no one wants to go, right?

Teaching and Writing News: The teaching goes on.  The writing, not so much.  I pledge, however, to devote Sunday morning to the manuscript, having told Beloved Mentor that I will have a finished draft in December.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Wow, the FGS faculty email listserv gets a good workout most days — but I think we’re a smaller school, so maybe we’re more informal? Folks send messages saying “Hey, there’s fresh zucchini bread in the library staff room,” or my latest favorite — a photographic self-portrait from a colleague, entitled “Why science teachers shouldn’t wear scarves.”

    Anyway, good for you for arranging social outings — have fun with your colleagues!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Jackie on October 22, 2010 at 12:13 pm

    We have the option to email all faculty or employees, and we get frequent messages–the zucchini bread kind, copiers malfunctioning, people with spare tickets to baseball games, people needing a good roofer, etc. It’s definitely handy. We also have a faculty happy hour at a nearby restaurant on the last Friday of the month–I, shamefully, have never gone, but I know people who have and say it’s a lot of fun.

    I would have felt the same way about the sign :). The brave thing to do is definitely keeping it up!

    Reply

  3. Hi!

    I just came across a comment you posted on someone’s website, in which you mentioned my book, How I Stayed Alive When My Brain Was Trying to Kill Me: One Person’s Guide to Suicide Prevention.

    Thanks for mentioning it. How are you these days? I hope you are feeling well.

    All the best,
    Sue Blauner

    Reply

  4. Posted by meansomething on October 31, 2010 at 6:04 am

    WN? and Jackie,
    I envy you your faculty listservs! I often email just my dept or just the people who I think will be interested in a particular article or something, but I am afraid that doing the all-faculty-and-staff email would be seen as unnecessary clutter by a lot of people. Maybe when the social committee finally gets off the ground, we’ll be able to set up something.

    Sue, thanks for your visit! I happened across your book at the library and found it fascinating. I’m sure it’s helped a lot of people, and I have certainly recommended it from time to time.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

