The panda’s thumb

Just a few quick comments drawn from the beginning of classes at NLNRU and the start of faculty meetings at SA:

  • (SA) I have a lot of really good colleagues.  It was really a pleasure to come back and catch up with Dr. Tea, with Dorothea, with Natasha B., the Librarian, and other folks.  I’m going to be teaching one of my classes in a history classroom otherwise inhabited by a lean gray wolf of a teacher.  Akela (for so I shall call him) is one of my favorite people at SA, and I think I’m glad that this scheduling quirk will let me see more of him. 
  • (SA) The Snork Maiden is almost ready to go.  She still needs a pair of dress shoes (probably ballet flats) and a watch, and we’re waiting for a couple of pairs of uniform shorts to arrive from Lands’ End.  Otherwise, she has all the uniform pieces: polo shirts, skirts, a blazer.  She has her books and her backpack.  She’s a little volatile, thinking of all the new challenges ahead, but pretty upbeat.
  • (NLNRU) Good first class, I think.  One student I’m a little concerned about; stares at his notebook, barely responds to questions.  May think he’s in the wrong place.  Maybe is. 
  • (My Entire Career Thus Far, But More Specifically, NLNRU) There’s always a difficult person somewhere.  Even when things are going well, there’s someone getting ready to spring up like the nasty folded-up clown folded into a jack-in-the-box.  And sometimes (getting philosophical here) you have to turn the handle anyway.    (The tinkling music plonks away.)
One response to this post.

  1. Appreciate you sharing, great blog.Really thank you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

