The energy bus: a boring list post

Working at home today (taking a break from the car and the car radio!) and here’s what I want to accomplish in the 7 hours that the Snork Maiden will be at camp:

  • 2-3 hours work on the book
  • finish up syllabus for fall course (A.M.)
  • set of NLNRU-related emails (A.M.)
  • set of other professional-issue-related emails (A.M. or P.M.)
  • send temp person instructions for a project (A.M.) 

 Several of these things really need to be off my plate in the morning, which is unfortunate since the morning is usually a good time to write, but today I’m going to pretend that 11 A.M. is the magic hour for writing, and I’m going to try to shovel these other things off the list and really clear the decks.  I’m also:

  • NOT going to check email between 9:00 and 1:00.  Can I do this?  I don’t know.  It seems daring.

Will definitely report back.  And in the meantime, do you have any summer time-management strategies that are working for you?

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Pym Fan on July 14, 2010 at 3:23 pm

    Hooray for a day of working at home, and double-hooray for those 2-3 hours of writing time! I remember reading that Mark Salzman wears earplugs when he writes, and I’ve heard of other authors who do this; I don’t think I’d be comfortable cutting myself off from the outside world QUITE that much, but I can certainly see the appeal…

    Reply

  2. Posted by meansomething on July 14, 2010 at 4:52 pm

    Earplugs, huh? I think I need psychic earplugs to keep me from fretting about the stream of nonsense that’s flowing past my mental window.

    Reply

  3. Posted by fls on July 22, 2010 at 12:25 am

    I use big studio-style headsets. Sometimes with music playing, sometimes without. Colleagues have referred to it as the cone of silence. It does work for me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

