Time and materials 2

So where have I been, and what have I been doing, these first two weeks of the new summer schedule?  Well, quite a lot has been the same as last year, actually: the long tail of the school year, the Snork Maiden finishing up her school year, striving to bring some semblance of order to the house (no, we didn’t get a cleaning service, though we so totally should have and still should).  The Snork Maiden is doing a mini-camp thing at Starfleet Academy and will do another campy thing for a couple of weeks in July.  I have gone back to the book, and it’s a little better than scratching with an unbent paper clip–not much, but better than this time last year. 

My sister and her husband had to go out of town unexpectedly last week, so the Snork Maiden and I wrangled the little niece and nephew for several days, which was fun in certain ways, absolutely wrecking in others, with random wakings in the night and all that.  This did have the advantage that when we came back to our still-messy house, it suddenly felt like a vacation! 

This week, I am on call for jury duty, so it’s very hard to plan any damn thing, but I’m trying to stay flexible and do what I can in the time that I have.  Today I don’t have to go in, so am heading to NLNRU to try to semi-finalize next year’s visiting writer event calendar before Stubb has to leave the Snork Maiden, who has some random summer virus and is languishing on the couch watching DVDs.  Stubb is pretty busy right now, so not a lot of flexibility from that direction.  And, as usual, people keep making flip comments to me about how I’m on break with nothing to do all summer.   Those people are getting on my nerves again.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Good heavens, I’m exhausted just reading your blog post! I hope that things calm down a little so that you can have some summer R&R as well as summer work.

    Reply

  2. […] home, I had a jury duty summons–haven’t had one of those in a while: actually, not for more than four years.  Now you can request a postponement online, which I did, so now I know that I’ll be on call […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

