In other rooms, other wonders

Monday was Day 1 of my summer schedule–which is/will be characterized by the following:

  • No teaching for 10 weeks
  • Writing
  • Administrative projects for NLNRU
  • Conference work
  • House projects
  • Family fun

The morning began with one last SA commitment–the end-of-year full faculty meeting.  We meet en masse about once a month for about an hour, and in some ways this is my favorite kind of meeting because it’s a time mostly to listen and observe, to learn what’s going on in parts of the school I don’t have much to do with.  The head of the high school is very good at moving things briskly along, so these rarely run over an hour and we get a lot of good information and necessary clarifications in that time.

I still have a few loose ends to tidy up at SA, so I’ll pop in a couple of times before the end of the month.  This is actually the first year since I began that I’m not moving classrooms–I had my own room when I began, moved to share with Dr. Tea the next year, and then we both moved to a room in another building.  We will probably move yet again next year, so I’ll savor being able to leave everything where it is this summer.  I do have some culling of papers and the like to do so that I don’t come back to dusty piles of completely irrelevant materials in August.

After the SA meeting, I went down to NLNRU for a not unpleasant, but far less laid-back meeting with our chair and administrators to continue planning for the departure of our main admin.  The grad advisor will take on some of the functions until we find another person, the chair and I will do others (heading into the beginning of admissions season, we will have phone calls and emails from prospective students, and I do a fair bit of recruitment stuff–in fact, that’s part of why I’m working this summer in the first place). 

For the farewell dinner, our chair took the four of us to a lovely Japanese restaurant with chairs made from corrugated cardboard.  The food was very good (I had a delicious soup with steamed salmon dumplings in it), but those chairs almost made me decide that I had to spend part of the summer learning to make cardboard furniture.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Pym Fan on June 16, 2010 at 1:27 pm

    A chair made of corrugated cardboard? Can’t picture it, but it sounds awfully clever. Now if someone would please figure out how to make chairs out of empty yogurt containers…

    Reply

  2. Posted by meansomething on June 27, 2010 at 7:54 pm

    PymFan, HA! We generate a lot of those, too. I eat from the largish tubs of plain, but Stubb and the Snork Maiden like the individual flavored cups…

    Reply

  3. Posted by Pym Fan on June 28, 2010 at 2:57 pm

    Same situation here: Mr. Pym Fan goes through big tubs of plain nonfat, whereas I haven’t been able to develop a taste for plain, so I prefer those single-serving cups with fruit. Lately I’ve been liking Wallaby Organic best, but I usually buy whatever organic brand is on sale… The single-serving empties are handy for mixing small amounts of paint, and the big tubs are handy for all kinds of things, but one can quickly end up with WAY too many. Fortunately, our Whole Foods just put in a recycle bin for #5 plastic, yay!

    Reply

  4. Posted by meansomething on June 28, 2010 at 4:25 pm

    Stubb and the Snork Maiden adore Wallaby Organic, too. Heh. Hi to Mr. Pym Fan, btw!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

