It’s a metaphor

From a New York Times article about the U.S.-England soccer matchup:

RUSTENBURG, South Africa — When Bob Bradley was the Princeton soccer coach, he took a team of college players to Italy, where he met Fabio Capello, the manager of the Italian and European champion A.C. Milan.

 “When you make wine,” Capello advised Bradley, “the grapes are not always the same.”

For Bradley, the meaning was not instantly clear.

“The first few times he said that to me, I thought he was actually talking about making wine,” Bradley recalled. “I have thought about it, and I realized he was trying to tell me something about football.”

I like this one.  It certainly fits teaching, too–as I have occasion to reflect while tidying up the loose ends of the year.  I think I had a better crop of grapes last year than this, but I still made wine.  I think.  I hope.

Leave a Reply

