Spring awakening

I guess we can skip the part where I explain that I haven’t posted in two weeks because blah blah blah, and just go straight to the part where I exult that Starfleet Academy classes this week are all exam review, and exams begin Friday.  I did set myself up to have one more item to grade for each of my students this week while also computing their pre-exam term grades, due Wednesday, but ain’t no big thing.  The days from here onward will feel a little lighter and stranger, even for the students. 

Our NLNRU program offers some summer classes (though I’m not teaching one), and we are also busy working on many aspects of next year, but the director and the chief administrator are both away this week, so fewer concrete things will be accomplished.  Since I am one of two people officially on the payroll this summer, however, I’ll be spending some time at the office this week so that students and summer faculty have someone to talk to in case the Unexpected happens.

I’m still spending a lot of my odd moments thinking about how to arrange my summer weeks and days, how to make writing the first priority even though I’ve also committed to some NLNRU projects, and even though we want to do some work on the house and have some summery fun, too.  More on this to come.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Moi aussi on the schedule — the end is in sight! (I normally don’t like to be the kind of person who wishes her life away or the kind of teacher who makes a fuss about how good it is to be away from the students — and yet, here I am.)

    Good luck finishing things up!

    Reply

  2. Posted by meansomething on May 31, 2010 at 3:00 pm

    I will miss the students, actually–but I will savor the break from the routine! GL to you too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

