Shame

I tried to post last night to say that I was waiting around to be one of the last people to board the airplane because I had forgotten to check in online, but the posting-from-phone thing wasn’t working. 

When I got on the plane, I took the first available seat, relieved that it was on an aisle, and not too disturbed that it was next to a young woman with a baby.  While in Denver, I had dinner at the home of one of my high school classmates, and his wife told me that when she flies with their one-year-old baby, the people sitting next to her never talk to her until the end of the flight.  Then–relieved, we assume, that the baby hasn’t spent the flight screaming or crying or spitting up–they start to chat with her as the plane is taxiing to the gate.  Being past the years of flying with a baby, I kind of understand this–knowing from experience how labor-intensive  it is to travel with a baby doesn’t always result in wanting to make human contact with someone else who is, for fear of getting sucked into the drama of the screaming or the vomiting or whatever.  I realize that makes me not the world’s nicest person, but anyway.  On the flight from Denver, though, both I and the woman on her other side chatted with this mom, and we all bonded over being mothers and it turned out that the third woman had been at AWP and that we’d even met before, at an event maybe seven years back, and the baby’s mother had gone to college at GU, so we all had a very nice and friendly flight. 

Oh, and the baby was charming.

It was a fun conference.  More on that later–lots to do before going back to school at SA and NLNRU tomorrow.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Sounds lovely — where does the shame come in?

    Reply

  2. Oh, the shame was supposed to be about forgetting to check in and having to be the last person to board. The title was left over from trying to post from the phone. Of course, I also feel a little ashamed of being one of those people who doesn’t want to get sucked into someone else’s baby-drama, even though I know how hard it is to fly with a baby or small child.

    Reply

  3. Posted by FLS on April 27, 2010 at 2:53 pm

    I always try to smile at aprents with kids boarding airplanes, because I know they are seeing lot of frowns and apprehension. Of course I have noise-canceling headsets. But honestly I don’t think I have ever been on a flight with an inconsolale baby. If they cry/scream for a short time it’s no biggo to me.

    Reply

  4. Posted by meansomething on April 29, 2010 at 1:36 am

    FLS, you are so very much the kind of person who would smile at a person with a baby for this reason! I miss you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

