A burnt-out case

Well, almost the end of the first week of March and I’m not sick (knock wood), but I am TIRED.  We had a wonderful visit at both SA and NLNRU by an esteemed writer friend of mine, and I enjoyed having my friend see both my habitats and getting to talk at luxurious length.  Then, though, I had to catch up on the work I’d fallen behind on–am still not quite as caught up as I’d like, and am not ready for Monday’s graduate class!  But Dr. Tea and I did finish prepping our workshop for Monday morning–it’s on teaching poetry, and a few of our very own colleagues have signed up for it, as well as people who teach at other schools. 

Dr. Tea and I also co-chaperoned the community service event this afternoon and helped our students restock shelves at a local food bank.  They were all seniors, so once again, all but one were students I haven’t taught and don’t really know, but Dr. Tea has taught most of them, so they were mostly jokey with her and a bit aloof, or simply shy, with me.  Once again I reflect that becoming a known quantity within the school is a powerful thing and chiefly a function of time.  I was more at ease than I would have been a year ago, but starting next year, I’ll have taught more than 1/3 of the students in all four grades–heck, it might be almost half, actually, and I bet that will make a noticeable difference.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Time passing and teaching more and more students do indeed make a difference in one’s role in the school and relationships with students … although just this week I was reflecting on the differences between me and a colleague who was hired at the same time. But she has much more relaxed and jokey relationships with many of the students than I do, in part because she’s a class advisor and has coached, which is a different sort of relationship than, say, advising a publication, which is what I do. But also, she comes from the world of boarding schools and is used to living with students, whereas I come from the world of college and am used to significant distance between me and my students. So she has students drop by and leave her little notes on her white board, which not only doesn’t happen to me but which I think might annoy me if it did. All of which is to say that individual teachers carve out different identities (obviously), so I don’t know if it’s chiefly a function of time or of teaching persona.

    Anyway, sounds like you’ve had a fun but exhausting week! Is spring break coming up soon?

    Reply

  2. Posted by meansomething on March 7, 2010 at 3:21 pm

    So funny–Dr. Tea’s students are always coming by and writing things on the board if she’s not there, which they rarely do for me! One factor, though, might be that I only teach one of my classes in our shared room, so when students from my other classes come looking for me, the room is not a familiar space to them.

    Spring break is in three weeks! How about yours?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

