Monday’s results

Mondays are usually my intense days this semester because I teach in the evening at NLNRU, so this was a heavy day.  Tomorrow should look quite different.

Commuting t/f SA: 25 minutes from home to SA

Commuting t/f NLNRU: a total of 1.5 hours from SA to NLNRU (just under an hour) and NLNRU to home (just over half an hour; there’s not much traffic at 10 PM). 

Housework: 5 minutes in the morning before work paying a bill online.  (I washed a few dishes when I came home, but I think of dishes and laundry as just things one does, like taking showers and getting dressed.  They have to be done fairly steadily.  Paying bills counts in my mind as housework, though–even though obviously that has to be done fairly steadily too!)

NLNRU Admin: 1 hour 11 minutes

NLNRU Class Prep: 1 hour 13 minutes (includes commenting on student work, but does not include rereading the text, which I did over the weekend).

NLNRU Teaching: 2 hours 45 minutes.

SA Admin: almost 3 hours.  Unusual in that we had an hour-long faculty meeting after school (we typically have one a month or fewer, but we happen to have two scheduled this month).  I left for NLNRU later than usual, but traffic wasn’t nearly as bad as I thought it would be.  Also, another 45 minutes or so of this was spent at a schoolwide musical assembly, which didn’t seem to fall under the other categories, but was certainly not discretionary time.  The remaining hour-plus included things like answering emails, running an errand on campus, scheduling a room, putting attendance into the computer, etc.  (I did tend to bunch these things together so that I could track them more efficiently.)  Edit: I also spent about 20 minutes writing up the minutes for our departmental meeting last week.

SA Class Prep: 16 minutes.  (Also atypical; it was Monday and I had prepared for all three classes over the weekend.)

SA Teaching: almost 3 hours (three classes, including class change times and conversations after class).

SA Grading: 49 minutes (about 35 grammar quizzes).

Nothing on the conference, writing, the writing biz, or exercise.

In total, I tracked about 14 hours, of which 2 were commuting, from 6:55 AM to 10:25 PM (15.5 hours).  The other hour and a half includes breaks–I ate part of my lunch while meeting with a student, but I did spend 15-20 minutes in blissful untracked solitude, and I stopped the timer when I got up to make a cup of tea or use the bathroom, for example–and things like walking from the parking lot at NLNRU to my department while talking with my mom on the phone and stopping to get coffee.

I saw Stubb and the Snork Maiden for about half an hour in the morning, but obviously they were on their own for the afternoon and evening.  Stubb was still awake when I got home, but we crashed before too long. 

On to Day 2!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Pym Fan on February 3, 2010 at 4:02 pm

    Yike, what a long day! I’m glad Tuesday was a little more reasonable, but it still sounds tiring. Do you think this year’s combination of a heavier NLNRU load and a slightly lighter SA load is working out? What would your TimeTracker data look like if you hadn’t made that shift?

    Reply

  2. I have the same dishes/laundry attitude; they’re pretty much the only things that I get done regularly, sadly, so the challenge is always to do the “extra” but necessary things such as bill-paying, straightening up, and all the rest. (Hence my new sticker system!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

