Winter break writing progress

Goal: 50 hours

Progress:

Well, I spent exactly two-thirds as much time writing during winter break as I had challenged myself to do, but 33 hours is a lot more hours than I’d spent on this book manuscript all fall, so I can’t kick.  In fact, I’m delighted.  I enjoyed myself so much, and reconnected with the manuscript so powerfully, that I count the experience a roaring success–especially when I consider all the other things I did during break, and the amount of time I spent with family (both nuclear and extended–did I mention that my sister moved house with two children under 3?). 

Experimentally, I sat down to work for a little while this morning before my usual get-up-to-go-to-work time, and I could feel the day pulling at me as I worked, but I could also feel the momentum of the previous sixteen days pushing on me from the other side, so who knows, I may be able to keep up some forward motion.  Particularly considering that after I hand back the remaining assignments not graded before winter break, I’ll have approximately a week before I have to start grading first-semester exams, with no grading and only a modest amount of prepping.  And then the second semester will start, and there will be a bit of a lull in the SA grading as that gets under way, so perhaps mornings will still be my time for a while, even if not on the order of two hours at a time?

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Pym Fan on December 20, 2009 at 12:10 am

    Woo-hoo! I’m impressed with both your goal and your progress. And now you have momentum!

    Reply

  2. Posted by meansomething on December 20, 2009 at 5:38 pm

    Thank you! The momentum continues, as you see. So far.

    Reply

  3. Congratulations! It’s lovely to have had a break that was both productive and fun.

    Reply

  4. Posted by meansomething on January 7, 2010 at 1:26 am

    Thanks! How about you? Are you still off, or back?

    Reply

  5. We were back on Monday for a “professional day,” and then classes started Tuesday. And I’m completely exhausted — it’s amazing how quickly one gets out of the practice of hard teaching work.

    Reply

  6. […] set a goal of 50 hours of work on my second book during break, and spent 33.  This year, I haven’t done any writing yet except for Morning Pages, but inspired by […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

