Beat the rush

The big lesson of this break seems to be that if I get up early, I get lots of work done, and if I don’t, I don’t.  Getting up early seems to stave off the pressure of all those things I think I should be doing, which doesn’t seem to reach critical levels until after 9:30 A.M.  And although I’ve been getting to bed between 9:30 and 11 P.M., there have been a couple of mornings on which I just couldn’t pry myself out of bed.

What else has been happening?  I fell asleep on the couch one evening with my head in an awkward, downward-pointing position, and for the subsequent two days I’ve had a sore jaw muscle on the side I was lying on.  Until this afternoon, it also felt like my jaw was actually out of alignment, with my back teeth meeting off-kilter, but now it feels almost normal again.

The Snork Maiden got glasses for the first time.  Her head is large enough that she can actually wear a range of smaller women’s glasses, and she picked out two pairs of very trendy-looking frames, both plastic and rectangular, though one features more rounded corners than the other.  One is dark blue (matches her sweatshirt), one is black and magenta.  To me she now looks like a very young college student, in her sweatshirt and glasses and messy vacation ponytail.  Because one of her eyes is much weaker than the other, she also has to wear an eyepatch for a few hours a day, a few days a week, to force the weak eye to work harder, so soon she will look like a college pirate, I guess.  (She whinged and whined before the actual eye appointment–“I don’t want to wear glasses!”–but once she got to the point of actually picking out the frames, she switched to being all excited and wanting to show all her friends and family members.  She hasn’t got the patch yet; we’ll see how that works.)

Stubb seems medically normal, but now that I’ve said that, he’ll probably sprain something or break out in a mysterious rash.

One response to this post.

  1. […] Snork Maiden got glasses, and I figured out that I was most productive when I was able to get up early (duh, for […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

