Disappearing acts

Suddenly I’m obsessed with the fact that the break is more than one-quarter over.  It takes a really special talent to see that the glass is one-quarter empty, not three-quarters full. 

I love working on my book.  I pause for a moment of useless regret for those times when I failed to take full advantage of the time and money provided by some fellowship or other. 

Stubb’s phone broke, and my four-year-old phone’s battery wasn’t holding a charge anymore, and we hadn’t changed contracts in a couple of years, so we got new phones this week.  Our first smartphones: a Droid for him and a Droid Eris for me.  (A little superstitious about buying a phone named after Eris, goddess of discord, yes.)  I need to futz with mine a lot more; so far, I’ve worked out how to do all the things I relied on my old one for (phoning, texting, alarms, and calendar–though calendar is much more exciting now that my phone can pull my Google calendar; I used the calendar on my old phone just for to-do lists and reminders, not for my actual calendar).  Oh, and put Facebook and the Doonesbury app on.

I acknowledge that the time spent learning to use the new phone is time well spent, but it still makes me a bit anxious to see time vanishing down this particular drainpipe, anyway.

Still, having fun with break.  The Snork Maiden went over to a friend’s yesterday and they went to see New Moon; Stubb bought her a new bookcase and swapped out the old one; dinner at cousins’ last night.

3 responses to this post.

  1. I had the same moment of panic this morning, suddenly worried that I’d frittered away “almost all” of my break; I had to take a deep breath and remind myself that there was no “almost all” about it, that we were only part way through the first week, for heaven’s sake.

    I also had to remind myself that, although I *feel* slothful, I’ve actually done some kind of work every day — I’ve just done it while reclining on the couch! But the appearance of sloth need not indicate actual sloth.

    I’m so happy for you that you’re loving working on your book!

    Reply

  2. Posted by meansomething on December 24, 2009 at 6:46 pm

    It has become a recognizable stage in my morning writing that there’s a moment when I have to acknowledge that I am feeling encroached on by thoughts of things I have to do that are not writing. I am using a blank exam blue book as a kind of temporary journal for freewriting in the mornings, and I’m getting into the habit of just grabbing it and writing down my feelings of encroachment, including listing the things that are encroaching, and then I put it aside and go back to what I was doing.

    Phew! It’s exhausting having a panicky brain.

    Reply

  3. […] set a goal of 50 hours of work on my second book during break, and spent 33.  This year, I haven’t done any writing yet except for Morning […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

