A thousand years of solitude

Why is it that I am always somewhat anxious on the last day before a break?  Is it that sense of needing to finish up many things, of an impending deadline?  Really, though, it’s a soft deadline because the school will be open for the “business days” of the break.  Maybe it’s just the change in routine that makes me fret.  I have a Bruce Eric Kaplan New Yorker cartoon on the hall bulletin board: two guys walking down the street, one explaining to the other, “I just get a little tense before everything.”

In case you were wondering, yes, some gifts have come in.  I’m embarrassed for caring.

4 responses to this post.

  1. I’ve had exactly the same gifts conversation with my colleagues this week; we all received less than last year but still got some nice holiday gifts (gift cards to bookstores always being the most appreciated!).

    And YES on the squirrely students! In every class for the last two or three days, I had to rein in the excitement and put us back on task several times in a class period, especially with my juniors, who have their big class tradition on the last day of school in December. And I too was stressed all week, even though I knew there was no reason to be so anxious about the “deadline” of yesterday. I was trying to get some grading done by then (and succeeded, fortunately), but I was also stressed about the final letters of recommendation, which I did not get written. But this morning I realized that I could simply print out the letters at home if I bring home some stationery, which I’ll do this afternoon, so what on earth was I so wigged out about? I think it was, as your cartoon says, that I get a little tense before everything.

    Enjoy your winter break! How long do you get? We have two glorious weeks.

    Reply

  2. Posted by meansomething on December 19, 2009 at 7:36 am

    We get two glorious weeks, too. Weird thing: I didn’t get ANY bookstore cards. Strange, no? I gave the Snork Maiden’s teacher a Target card, though, not a bookstore card, because I know she needs various classroom supplies and anyway there’s always something someone needs at Target.

    I got about $45 in coffee shop cards, though. Does this mean that my students think of me with a coffee mug in my hand, not a book? 🙂

    Reply

  3. No, it means they think of you as settling into a coffee shop and reading, and they probably figure you already have the books and just need the coffee! (I got a $15 gift card to Starbucks as well, and so will probably indeed take a book there and settle in.)

    Reply

  4. Posted by meansomething on December 19, 2009 at 5:31 pm

    That’s a nice thought! I hope you enjoy your books and coffee!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

