The year of the flood

pelicanWell, if Sunday night is when I have the time and the inclination to update the blog, then so be it.  Only problem is that Sunday nights I feel more like blogging about my weekends than about one of the various workplace and writing topics that crop up in my thoughts during the week. 

Here’s one, though: Once each at NLNRU and SA in the upcoming week, I am going to miss an event that I feel it would probably be right and appropriate for me to attend.  At NLNRU, it’s a visiting poet reading, with a fancy dinner afterwards; at SA, it’s a performing-arts event directed by one of my colleagues, and some of my students are appearing in it.

The conflict with the NLNRU event is the Snork Maiden’s annual physical checkup, which actually didn’t occur last year, plus she’s been (knock wood!) pretty healthy, so it’s the first time in two years that we’ll have seen her pediatrician.  Stubb could take her, but with puberty on the horizon, I would like to be there.  Also, there’s the whole flu/H1N1 shot thing. 

The conflicts with the two performances of the SA event are a long-planned family event with some of our cousins whom we don’t see often enough (which is also a rare opportunity for a family evening out for the three of us), and an out-of-town meeting with my counterparts at P’s institution, whom I haven’t seen since P. died. 

I’m not thrilled about missing these events, but I am probably more sanguine than I once would have been.  Despite my acclimation to living two lives, I’m perhaps a little more aware that I can’t actually be in two places at once, and less willing to try.  The same week, I have a more important (because sponsored by my department, and because there will be three of us at dinner, not dozens) visiting-speaker event, and I’ll be there for that; at the end of the month, I’ll be chaperoning a different arts performance at SA, and next month I’ll attend a play with even more of my students in it.

I think I probably still overstate the importance of appearing at these things, but I do tend to be overresponsible (except for the times I’m underresponsible!).  Come to think of it, that’s probably how I got where I am today.  I think they are objectively important, but also that everyone understands you can’t appear at everything.

Stubb’s trip interfered with an overnight trip we’d planned, so after the weekend’s soccer and niece-and-nephew-wrangling, we took the Snork Maiden’s friend Dee and decamped to a beach town an hour away.  We stayed overnight, woke up early and went splashing around in the cold surf, picking up shells, and had a picnic lunch.  That was a refreshment to the spirit.  We also saw this enormous pelican, obligingly posing on a railing.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Pym Fan on October 15, 2009 at 11:24 pm

    Hmm. So what was the pediatrician’s take on “the whole flu/H1N1 shot thing”? Is the H1N1 vaccine available yet? If/when so, will the Snork Maiden get it?

    Reply

  2. Posted by meansomething on October 17, 2009 at 6:03 pm

    Hi, PymFan! Boy, do I owe you an email. H1N1 vax isn’t available here yet, and the doc didn’t have the seasonal flu one on hand, either, so I guess it’s just handwashing and hope for us for the next little while.

    Reply

  3. […] right before school starts, or on one of the first weekends of September.  I remember enjoying a quick getaway with the Snork Maiden in 2009 and feeling refreshed by it even though it was quite […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

