Panopticon

Speaking of which, it’s always nice to be linked to by Inside Higher Ed, but I always feel as if someone has stopped by and the house is a mess, particularly when the post they link to is kind of boring and the one at the top of the blog yammers on and on.

Today I stopped at the baby superstore and the two grocery stores where my fraud perpetrator shopped, and the responses were varied: one grocery store manager just handed me a number to call (which went to some accountant’s voice mail), while the other one took down my card number, the date, the amount, and my contact information and promised to have the security tapes reviewed.  The baby superstore manager, however, pulled up the transaction for me, showed me that the thief had bought some toddler clothes and a $250 video baby monitor (huh?), and then took me into her office and located the bit of tape on which a thirtyish woman purchased these items and swiped a (presumably forged) card.  She also used a coupon–and wasn’t that very considerate of her!  She saved me $8 on the baby monitor I bought her.

Then I went to Starfleet Academy to meet with New Teacher and Dr. Tea–and, it turns out, to see our glorious new classroom.  Several of our colleagues were there, moving in.  I haven’t unpacked anything yet–will probably go back on Friday.  We had some good conversations about this year in the ninth grade, and I’m getting pretty excited about the year.

Then I came home and called the fraud division of my bank and spoke to a very nice fraud investigator who started the claim rolling.  The two grocery-store charges are still pending and haven’t officially posted to the account, but when they do, they will be provisionally refunded to me.  The baby superstore one, and three other small charges, should be provisionally refunded tomorrow.  The “provisional” part, I gather, means that if they decide it wasn’t fraud, they can take the money back–but, having seen a tape of someone who is not me buying something I didn’t buy, I am pretty confident that the fraud claim is a solid one.

And now I’m going to see a movie with my in-laws.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by bsgirl on August 20, 2009 at 10:42 pm

    Amen. Whenever I write what I think is a particularly insightful post about academia, IHE ignores me. Whenever I post a petty rant about something insignificant, they are sure to tag me. It makes my stomach drop when I log into my blog account and see that I’ve had 200+ visitors to IHE, all reading something that makes me seem shallow and stupid.

    And, while I’m at it, why don’t the IHE readers ever write comments? They are like some kind of anonymous mob, swooping in to cast a critical eye over your business, but never leaving any trace (other than the stat numbers).

    Panopticon is exactly right!

    Reply

  2. Posted by bsgirl on August 20, 2009 at 10:43 pm

    Um, that’s “from IHE” of course.

    Reply

  3. Posted by meansomething on August 21, 2009 at 4:01 am

    Bsgirl, ha! That’s so true–except that of course you don’t sound shallow or stupid.
    I like to think that one or two of the most discerning keep coming back to read more, but who knows?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

