Slow motion

I should have this problem all the time, but I’m amazed at how slowly today has gone.  I woke up at 5, stayed in bed until almost 6, have been working on this administrative project most of the day, with breaks to surf the Internet.  The Snork Maiden is home, mildly ill and requiring only minimal attention, but I can’t leave the house to do errands, and some of the other things I might do, such as clean the house, I can’t bring myself to do because I still have all this grading.  So every time I look at the clock, it’s much earlier than I would have guessed–presumably because I didn’t commute, or teach, or prep, or talk with colleagues (except for a long conversation with another administrator on this project)–all the things that normally make the time fly.

So I feel perfectly justified in taking a nap–I might not drop off to sleep, but I’ll lie down and read–before I sit down to grade.  Dinner will be informal.

Leave a Reply

