Disappearing acts

That was, after all, a pretty good day.  I got lots done, including planning and handouts.  All of my classes will be reading a poem by the inaugural poet  along with whatever else they are doing on Tuesday. 

Doughnuts with the neighbors–fun, as always.  The Snork Maiden  worked on a school project with Stubb’s help.  We watched a lot of The Empire Strikes Back (Yoda: “No.  Try not.  Do, or do not.  There is no try”). 

I’m not going to that meeting, or, in fact, to that reading.  Just because a lot of things can be finessed, as I learned during my adjuncting-on-three-campuses days, doesn’t necessarily mean they should be.  When I search my feelings (Vader: “Search your feelings.  You know it to be true”), it’s clear to me that it’s simply too much to move around at Starfleet Academy.  And while they would probably tolerate it, I just don’t think it’s worth it this time.  There will probably be some fallout at NLNRU, but somehow the thought of that doesn’t worry me too much.  I can’t do both these jobs perfectly–heck, I can’t even do one of them perfectly, but one of the hallmarks of having two jobs is that sometimes I have to drop the ball at one of them because I have to pick up the ball at the other.  That’s just the way it is, and somehow it’s clearer to me than it usually is that it’s not my fault (Han: “It’s not my fault!”).  Also, although I generally have trouble recognizing that I am not the linchpin of the universe, and although–because of the political situation at NLNRU–my being at this meeting would serve a genuine purpose beyond that of another warm bottom in a chair, I am pretty sure I’m not the linchpin of this meeting either.

And if the wheels fall off, we’ll know I was wrong about that.

Leave a Reply

