In dreams begin responsibilities

Classes start again Monday, so my teaching anxiety dream last night was right on schedule.  It involved being observed by my principal evaluator and a handful of prospective students while the class was meeting at the bottom of a grassy hill (at least the weather was nice) down which I had to slip and slide to get to class.  Our discussion was also periodically interrupted by a band doing an outdoor sound check.  For an anxiety dream, it was all rather cheerful and bucolic.  Perhaps not so much an anxiety dream as my brain prepping itself for the return to school?  I have to say that even in the dream, I was happy to see my students again.

Today I’ll do some work on the semester exam and think about Monday’s classes for a while.  This is another first, by the way–returning from winter break to all the same groups instead of brand-new faces!

Leave a Reply

