Hello cupcake

The house smells like cupcakes.  Anyone in my homeroom who brings in books for a book drive tomorrow can have a nice yellow cupcake with chocolate frosting.  I’ve already put a few donations of my own into the bag, including the copy of Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close that I picked up at AWP last year–they were handing out signed copies.  I started reading it on the plane home, but couldn’t get hooked into it.  So it should go to a new home.

I also realized I have an unread copy of Crime and Punishment on my shelf, which reminded me that I really want to read The Brothers Karamazov and that winter break should be the perfect time.  Must remember to ask Dr. Tea what translation she recommends.  (Of the three samples at the Dartmouth link, I think I might find the MacAndrew translation the most readable.)

Little surprise in the mail today–a selection from my book is being republished as part of a standardized test, possibly a statewide high-school exit exam.  Of course, statewide high-school exit exams are not necessarily something I’d support.  But I’m rather pleased that this particular piece will be there.  Anyone who takes the exam and is actually interested will be able to find it on the Internet after the test (which is probably how the test publisher found it, too).

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Pym Fan on December 5, 2008 at 9:24 pm

    That’s fabulous that a selection from your book is going to be included in a standardized test! Talk about a captive audience. Woo-hoo!

    Reply

  2. Hey, that’s cool news about your work! Congrats — I hope you’re giving yourself a cupcake too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

