The curious sofa

The couch that was supposed to be delivered before I left for Stubbville did not, in fact, arrive (I could have used a phone call earlier in the delivery window, when it became apparent to the driver that there was no way it was happening that day, but whatever), so I rescheduled it for today.  Now that the Snork Maiden is home, the neighbor kids have descended to play with Legos again, so I’m sitting here waiting for the couch and contemplating a series of teaching-related tasks that need to be completed in the next 48 hours, before…

…we go away again.  Stubb’s folks are spending a week in a vacation area about two hours away, and the idea is that the Snork Maiden and I will go over there on Saturday and she’ll stay there next week with the cousins while I go back early early early Monday morning for various Starfleet Academy teacher-development activities as well as the first meeting of my New RU course.  With some luck, I’ll be able to spend some time with the family, too, but much depends on Starfleet Academy, my own energy levels, and traffic.  (Also on how smoothly things go for the Snork Maiden, who’s always a bit apprehensive about spending nights away from home and parents.)

So–time for a list!  Within the next 48 hours, I must:

  • take delivery of the couch (or deal with whatever problem arises)
  • attend a reception at New RU (and drop by office to sign contract)
  • prepare first-day handouts for New RU: 1) original handout; 2) photocopies of examples; 3) reading for second class meeting
  • finish my New RU syllabus
  • cobble together opening remarks and a plan of action for the first class at RU
  • attend an orientation for new teachers at Starfleet Academy
  • complete and hand in paperwork for a health-insurance change
  • get in touch, at least briefly, with two shamefully neglected friends (who don’t read this blog)  This will have to happen this week…
  • update my “bird’s-eye view” curriculum plans for the year–a general sketching out of goals and assignments to be used at gradewide meetings Monday
  • send two one overdue Writing Biz emails (technically, these could both wait until Monday, but I don’t expect to have time on Monday anyway)
  • drop off books at the library and pick up a book on hold
  • prepare myself and the Snork Maiden for the next trip (laundry, repack)
  • Added: dig out my old Peanuts lunchbox that I promised to find for the Snork Maiden

Tasks being deferred until next week include:

  • the writing of syllabi for my Starfleet Academy classes
  • the planning of the first week or so of said classes
  • putting away or otherwise dealing with miscellaneous items and recycling unearthed by the reorganization of my workspace last week

I keep oscillating between feelings of a) apprehension, unwillingness to work, and anxiety about the new school year and b) excitement, eagerness to meet all my new students, and ambition for this to be the best year ever.  Phase a) peaked last week, and right now I seem to be in a b) phase, so this is probably a good time to get started on the above.  Off I go!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Y R Messernen on August 25, 2008 at 4:03 am

    What’s the book on hold?

    Reply

  2. Posted by meansomething on August 25, 2008 at 2:37 pm

    Embarrassing–I don’t remember! As you can see, this is something I didn’t get done. I’ll try to do it tomorrow.

    Reply

  3. […] Watched a play at Starfleet Academy on Saturday night; came home after the Snork Maiden was in bed and shared a beer with Stubb on the couch […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

