Goodbye without leaving

Stubb is getting ready to go away for an extended absence for work.  (I wish I could tell you what he’s doing, but if I told you, I’d have to kill you.)  He will be two states away, doing something worthwhile that he’s interested in and excited about.  So I’m happy for him that he gets to go, and this sort of absence is fairly typical for his job, so we’ve dealt with these before, though this is definitely a long one (expected to be almost four months) compared to others.  The Snork Maiden, though, seems to be anticipating his absence far more than she has with previous ones, and it seems to hit her hard at bedtime.  At this point, I am almost anxious for him to go so that we can be launched upon the project of living with his absence instead of hung up on the SM fretting about it.  At the same time, though, I’m not eager for him to leave.

It’s possible for us to visit him, and I think we’ll do that either the first or second weekend he’s gone.  We’re also thinking about a rendezvous in Las Vegas, where he has to go one weekend (and which is a pretty good rendezvous city since you can usually find a decent airfare).  The Snork Maiden hasn’t really seen Vegas–we were there with her once for a wedding, but she was two years old.  Once school is out, we’ll be able to spend some chunks of time with him, but understandably, to the SM, the end of school still seems unbearably far away.

The big logistical challenge for me, on which I find myself dwelling at odd moments, is that on days when I have a first-period class (two or three days a week), I need to get someone else to take the SM to school.  Fortunately, I have neighbors, relatives and friends who are willing to help, and enough of them so that I shouldn’t have to hit up any one person too often.  But this does require that I get the SM used to getting up a bit earlier than usual, so that we can be out the door early enough for me to drop her off with whomever’s taking her.  And doing this is making her, in the short term, a little bit more cranky and tired at the end of the day–which is not helping her frame of mind at bedtime, either.  Ah well, this too shall pass…

2 responses to this post.

  1. Wow, that’s going to be quite an adjustment. In a way it’s too bad that he’ll be gone for so much of the summer, the time when you all might otherwise have the most family time, although I’m sure it will be easier handling the SM as a temporarily single parent once school is out.

    Reply

  2. Posted by meansomething on May 4, 2008 at 8:44 pm

    True, true–though since it will be summer vacation, we’ll be able to go and stay with him for a week or more at a time, which would otherwise be impossible. And right now a weekend visit soon seems like a really good idea…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

