Paying the piper

Here endeth spring break.  I realize that for a lot of people, spring break has receded into a faint memory–if they even have one.  (A spring break, not a memory.)  So I’m not asking for sympathy.  Anyway, it’s time to get back to work.  There’s a lot of material to cover at Starfleet Academy in the next eight weeks (not to mention at NCC in the next six and a half weeks, and New RU in the next four). 

I have more to do to prepare for this week at the Academy than I’d hoped.  I have prepping and even grading left to do for Monday and Tuesday.  By mere reflex, I’m feeling sort of embarrassed about that–I hear my mom, who never leaves anything for the last minute, asking Why did you leave all this for the last minute?  But as I’ve written before, getting grading done in efficient bursts under time pressure seems to be the way I work.  Assuming I can make my peace with it, it’s probably not even necessarily a bad thing. 

I keep feeling the reflex, though, and it’s telling me that I had two whole weeks and what did I do with all that time?  I must have wasted it!  And yet the evidence suggests that this just ain’t so:

I wrote a reasonable amount, making progress on my current book ms; prepared and taught four classes (at New RU and NCC); graded; did some reading for SA classes; read a few books just for fun; completed a couple of big organizing projects around the house; spent more relaxed time with Stubb and the Snork Maiden; had two massages; babysat; completed benefits paperwork and signed next year’s SA contract; saw a couple of friends (including having two writing dates with E.); had a couple of meaningful professional coffee dates.  Oh, and I also had an idea for an essay collection I’d like to edit, and started talking to a possible co-editor about it. 

So it was a good spring break.  I’m sorry it’s over, but also looking forward to another couple of months of teaching–at the end of which I get two months not off of work, but out of the classroom.

So, reflex, knock it off. 

3 responses to this post.

  1. I’m still getting used to the fact that, at FGS, most of the teachers don’t work over breaks and don’t feel a bit guilty about it (or at least don’t admit it if they do). Their attitude is that spring break is time away and that this is a healthy thing, and that they do their work when they’re on the clock. I can’t quite get used to this; I’m so used to everyone’s coming back to school and berating themselves for how little they did. But I love the IDEA of taking a break as time away, even if I can’t quite grasp it for myself. You’ll have to tell me how things work at Starfleet Academy in this respect.

    Reply

  2. Posted by meansomething on April 7, 2008 at 12:51 pm

    I know! A lot of my fellow teachers really went away–Hawaii, Spain, etc. (Some were chaperoning school trips.) I actually did relatively little SA work over break, but obviously the writing time was most welcome, and probably will be as long as I’m at SA.

    More to come!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

