By the pricking of my thumbs, part 4

(at least, I think I’m up to 4)

I’m not sure what to think about the continued radio silence on the job search.  I know that two departments aren’t bringing me to campus, and I have reasonable certainty that a third isn’t either; there’s nothing on the wiki about it, but I’m pretty sure that they have already picked their flyback candidates.  With the fourth, though, it’s vaguely possible that they simply haven’t gotten their act together yet.  Nothing on the wiki, and they told me that nothing would be decided about campus visits until after the spring semester began (which was about a week ago).  Also, their handling of the search has been atypical in other ways, and I wouldn’t be surprised if they went more slowly in this stage.

However, this is obviously nothing to peg one’s hopes to!  Most likely, my odd job-search season (five apps, four interviews, no flybacks) has come to naught.  I’m viewing that with a curious equanimity for now.  Mostly, I’m sure, because I’m no longer in the throes of fall semester and its untenable courseload.  I’ve started my course at New RU and am about to wrap up January session at NCC.  Things seem to be going well at both institutions, and it’s just looking possible that I might be able to make a living on a 3-3 schedule during the academic year if I also teach intersession and summer.  Not cushy, but manageable.  If it gives me time to write and doesn’t make things hard on my family, I’ll take it.

There’s another job possibility on the horizon.  I agreed to speak at a local private school next month–and to talk with the dean of faculty while I’m there.  It’s hard for me to tell exactly how interested I might be in working at such a place, and this is probably a subject for another post.  Yesterday I read What Now’s post on a typical Monday at her high school teaching job with extra care and interest, but of course there’s still a lot I don’t know about what it’s like to teach at this particular school.   Worth finding out, anyway.  Stay tuned!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Feel free to email me off-list if you want to talk more about high school teaching, both its rewards and perils. And you’re certainly quite right that each school is very different.

    Reply

  2. Posted by meansomething on January 31, 2008 at 5:03 am

    Thank you! I was just getting around to asking. I am curious. I have a little experience with upperclass HS students, but in a different kind of setting than this. You’ll probably be hearing from me when I get back from AWP.

    Reply

  3. […] the SA job possibility appeared on the horizon at the end of January–and I started teaching there on February 19, the Tuesday after […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

