The fluorescent light glistens off your head

(Yes, that really is a book title.)

And the very first writing observation of the new year is this: that neither my first-year college students nor the authors of the manuscripts I’m screening seem to be able to spell fluorescent.  Too bad, as it is such a good word.  They write florescent (in the process of blooming) or flourescent (not a word, but implies gleaming like flour?). 

I have decided to make a resolution, not for the new year, but just for January, and it is this: to take a 20-minute walk every day.  I expect that this resolution will address several areas in my life that could use improvement:

  1. As a general health concern, I don’t get enough exercise;
  2. I operate at a fairly high baseline level of stress/anxiety, which might come down a bit if I blow off some of that energy with exercise;
  3. I need time to think quietly about writing (walking, I have often found, fosters good thinking about writing);
  4. I complain too much and snap at my family (see #2);
  5. My sneakers are starting to be more holes than uppers (if I am walking for exercise every day, I will feel justified in spending money on a new pair).

There are probably others, but even a little improvement in all of these areas would make this seem like a worthwhile resolution, eh?  (I thought about 25 or 30 minutes–when I have been in a good walking groove, I’ve found it easy to do an hour’s walk several times a week–but frankly I am feeling nervous about time and think that I’d be better off starting with a teeny tiny goal that I can actually do.)

My plan is to set off in a different direction from my house each day and see how far I can get in ten minutes, then turn around and walk back (or, if feasible, come back another way).  Today, we head south. 

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Pym Fan on January 2, 2008 at 2:18 am

    So how did south turn out? I definitely agree about walking and thinking about writing. (I read somewhere that Joyce Carol Oates works out her fiction ideas while running–a characteristically extreme-sounding arrangement. I’m pretty sure I’d trip and break my neck if I tried that.) Also, hooray for small, manageable goals…

    Reply

  2. Posted by meansomething on January 2, 2008 at 4:24 am

    South was nice! I made it to the Thai-Chinese restaurant, which is actually southeast (I figure the whole loop was a bit over a mile). Due south is not exactly possible from here because our north-south street ends. Tomorrow I think I’ll just lap the elementary school.

    Yes, I like the small manageable goals. I’m thinking that if I had a theme for 2008 (a la Profgrrrrl), it might be something like “small steps, big journeys.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

