A moveable feast

This week went pretty well, especially considering my anxiety attack on Sunday.  I thought all of my classes except one went quite well (and the exception wasn’t a bad class, just low energy and a bit loopy).  I felt more resilient and less stressed overall, presumably because a change is  better than a rest and I did have four days without teaching.  I’m glad it’s the weekend, though. 

Thanks again to comebacknikki, this time for the link to Friday’s Feast.   (I figure it counts if I started composing the post on Friday.)

Appetizer
What is your favorite carnival/amusement park ride?

I’m a sucker for a nice carousel, like this 1911 Looff carousel at the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk.  As a kid, I was too timid to climb onto the horses, even the stationary ones, and usually spent the whole ride sitting on one of the decorative benches.  I like to make up for that whenever I get the chance as an adult.  The Snork Maiden is no wuss, so I usually have company.

Soup
How do you react in uncomfortable social situations?

I make polite small talk while inwardly screaming.

Salad
On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being highest, how much do you enjoy discussing deep, philosophical topics?

It depends on with whom I’m discussing them, but it probably averages out to 4.  With some people, I can enjoy it, but with most, it makes me want to stick forks in my eyes.  I think my deep, philosophical self, such as it is, mostly goes into my writing.

Main Course
Did you get a flu shot this year? If not, do you plan to?

I did, because a) it was free; b) I’m spending a lot of time around babies; c) as a teacher who rides public transportation, I get exposed to everything that’s going around.  I should probably have the Snork Maiden get a snort of FluMist, but am having trouble imagining when I could take her.  Maybe Stubb can do it.

Dessert
Approximately how many hours per week do you spend watching television?

I happen to know that since Monday I have spent three hours, because Stubb and I finished up the first season of Rome on Friday by watching the last two episodes back-to-back, and we watched the antepenultimate episode earlier in the weekAnd I see I posted almost four weeks ago about watching the first episode, so that’s twelve episodes in four weeks, or an average of three hours a week.  Other than Rome, I might occasionally watch a DVD with the Snork Maiden, but without cable, there’s little to tempt us.  One of the perks of babysitting at my sister’s house (second to getting to be with my adorable niece) is that when the baby goes to sleep, I get to watch the cable channel VH1 Classic to see programming that essentially replicates what I watched on MTV when I was at college.  Unless, of course, they’re running a KISS tribute weekend or something (note to self: check tvguide.com before agreeing to babysit).

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Pym Fan on December 2, 2007 at 2:05 am

    Wow! I rode that very carousel many times as a child and have vivid memories of the horses, the brass rings, the music, etc. I didn’t know there was a website! Very cool.

    Congrats on the good week. How many Terrible Tuesdays left now?

    Reply

  2. Posted by meansomething on December 2, 2007 at 5:01 pm

    Awww! I think it’s the only brass ring carousel I’ve ever been on. “Grabbing the brass ring” is way different from what I’d imagined–snatching it out of its holder and flinging it into the clown’s mouth?

    The very last Terrible Tuesday is this week–last meeting of the night class. The other Tuesday commitments end one and two weeks later, respectively. Yay.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

