The accidental time machine, part two

Hi, invisible people.  Sorry if this is another boring post about my everlasting lists.  I’ll throw in a nugget of literary observation: Colm Tóibín’s novel The Master is so absorbing that it nearly made me miss my train stop yesterday.  I’m shocked by how easily I accept that “Henry” of the novel is Henry James, and also at how little my idea of “Henry James” seems to interfere with my utter absorption in the character.  (Not to take away from Tóibín’s achievement, which by any measure is tremendous, but this may be in part because I don’t have as strong an idea of James as many readers will have.  I remember my friend who has appeared in comments here as Pym Fan reading, with every appearance of enjoyment, the massive volumes of Leon Edel’s James biography, something that, frankly, would never have occurred to me to do.  I wonder what she would think of The Master.)

Here’s what’s on deck:

  • Write on Saturday and on Sunday Saturday: I feel so much better when I write.  I am all chirpy now.  Off to fold the laundry.
  • Snork Maiden’s soccer game Denied again, 2-0.  They played well, though.
  • Grade 25 in-class essays
  • With Stubb and the Snork Maiden, clean up the house (see next item) We tidied up and Stubb changed the furnace filter.  But then…
  • Have friends over for dinner  This one got canceled because I think I am coming down with something.  Achy.  Ick.  The chirpiness of this morning is gone.  I was so looking forward to seeing these friends, too.  Hope we can reschedule very soon. 
  • Email and a few administrative tasks related to upcoming conference

Hope you are all having good weekends.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Pym Fan on November 12, 2007 at 9:04 pm

    If I really did read that whole Edel biography, not much of it stuck, I’m sorry to say. I *do*, however, still have a pretty strong sense of “Henry James,” and that has made me reluctant to try “The Master.” (A similar reluctance keeps me from seeing movies made out of Jane Austen novels.) Still, I’m intrigued, and the fact that you found the book so engrossing is definitely a mark in its favor…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

