The return of the real

Mel of In Favor of Thinking is back! 

I’ve been reading through her archives, and this post caught my eye.  She overhears a little girl telling her father, “That ring is just like mommy’s,” and realizes after a moment of listening to their conversation that the ring in question is a cell phone ringtone.  “I wonder what her generation’s view of technology will be like…so bound up with personal connections, from the beginning,” she muses. 

One of my favorite cell phone features is the ability to assign different ringtones to different callers.  With my last phone, which didn’t have this capability, the ringtone I picked was a few tinny, monophonic bars of “Ode to Joy.”  With this one (also a Nokia), a polyphonic “Ode to Joy” is my standard ringtone, but my eight or ten most frequent callers have their own.  When my phone bursts into the William Tell Overture, the Snork Maiden knows it’s Dad calling.  I suppose this will have formed her associations to this piece of music, for example.  She certainly doesn’t think of it as the Lone Ranger’s theme song.

2 responses to this post.

  1. so great to find your blog!

    Reply

  2. Posted by meansomething on September 13, 2007 at 2:48 pm

    Thanks, Mel! Looking forward to reading yours in real time (or something like it).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

